Handel: Dixit Dominus

COR16076 Dixit Dominus

George Frideric Handel: Dixit Dominus / Agostino Steffani: Stabat Mater

Price: £12.00


The Sixteen adds to its stunning Handel collection with a new recording of Dixit Dominus set alongside a little know treasure - Agostino Steffani’s Stabat Mater.

Full of virtuosity, vibrant colour and dynamic energy, Handel’s Dixit Dominus captures absolutely the Italian style of the period. Handel’s control of forces is masterly and the range of texture and style is breathtaking. Written during the composer’s time in Italy in the early eighteenth century it is amongst his first autographed works and also one of his finest.

By comparison Agostino Steffani’s little known Stabat Mater was one of his last compositions. Written for the Academy of Vocal Music in London, this work is the most powerful expression of Steffani’s religious fervour and, outside opera, his largest, most varied and most heartfelt composition.

Elin Manahan Thomas & Grace Davidson soprano
Ruth Massey alto
Jeremy Budd & Mark Dobell tenor
Eamonn Dougan & Rob Macdonald bass
The Sixteen
Harry Christophers


Track Listings

Agostino Steffani (1654-1728)

1. Stabat Mater dolorosa
2. Cuius animam gementem
3. Quis est homo qui non fleret
4. Pro peccatis suae gentis
5. Vidit suum dulcem Natum
6. Eia Mater, fons amoris
7. Fac me vere tecum flere
8. Virgo virginum praeclara
9. Fac ut portem Christi mortem
10. Fac me plagis vulnerari 
11. Inflammatus et accensus
12. Quando corpus morietur

George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)

13. Dixit Dominus
14. Virgam virtutis tuae
15. Tecum principium in die virtutis
16. Iuravit Dominus
17. Tu es sacerdos in aeternum
18. Dominus a dextris tuis
19. Iudicabit in nationibus
20. De torrente in via bibet
21. Gloria Patri et Filio

You may also like...

COR16080 The Handel Collection

COR16080 The Handel Collection

Eight of The Sixteen’s celebrated...

COR16066 Coronation Anthems

COR16066 Coronation Anthems



Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts