Handel Chandos Anthems: London

13 September 2021 7.30pm Wigmore Hall Tickets: £16 - 60(Booking Fees Apply)

In the first of three concerts celebrating our current residency, we have selected four of Handel’s resplendent Chandos Anthems, composed in 1717-18 for the chapel of the composer’s wealthy patron James Brydges, who became Duke of Chandos in 1719; in between come two of Handel’s earlier solo cantatas, composed in Italy in 1707-09.


The Sixteen 
Harry Christophers conductor


Chandos Anthem No 6 ‘As pants the hart’ HWV251b
Spande ancor a mio dispetto HWV165
Chandos Anthem No 2 ‘In the Lord put I my trust’ HWV247
Chandos Anthem No 1 ‘O be joyful’ HWV246
Overture and Scene 1 from Esther (1st version v1718)
Chandos Anthem No. 5 ‘I will magnify thee’ HWV250a