A special performance in tribute to Elizabeth II, streamed live from the Tower of London.

As a tribute to Elizabeth II, on 11 October 2022 at the Chapel Royal of Saint Peter ad Vincula, Tower of London, we will perform A Tribute to the Life and Reign of Elizabeth II, a Genesis Foundation concert conducted by Harry Christophers. Attended by an invited audience, the concert will be live-streamed globally on Classic FM’s Facebook page and on their website.

The ‘choral crown jewels’ that form A Tribute to the Life and Reign of Elizabeth II range from the 16th to the 21st century. The programme is built around selections from books of choral music assembled for both Elizabeth I and Elizabeth II: Cantiones Sacrae (1575); The Triumphs of Oriana (1601); A Garland for the Queen (1953), and Choirbook for the Queen (2012). The concert includes the world premiere of a work commissioned by the Genesis Foundation O Lord, make thy servant, Elizabeth by Cecilia McDowall, one of the UK’s leading choral composers.

In addition to live-streaming, Classic FM will webcast a five-minute performance by singers from Genesis Sixteen. It will be pre-recorded in the Tower of London’s other Chapel Royal, the intimate St John the Evangelist. This exquisite example of Romanesque architecture, built in the 11th century as part of the White Tower, served as a private chapel when royalty was in residence.

To receive additional content including behind-the-scenes footage, programme and extended interviews, sign up here.

How to watch the Live Stream

Viewers can watch the stream from 7pm on 11 October on Classic FM’s Facebook Page and on their website. Please note that you DO NOT need a Facebook account in order to watch a Facebook live stream.


  • Morley

    Hard by a crystal fountain

  • Tallis

    O sacrum convivium

  • Tallis

    O lux beata Trinitas

  • Tippett

    Dance, Clarion Air

  • Byrd

    O Lord, make thy servant, Elizabeth

  • Stanford

    The Blue Bird

  • Britten

    Gloriana Dances for tenor, harp and choir

  • Vaughan Williams

    Silence and Music

  • Cecilia McDowall

    O Lord, make thy servant, Elizabeth (Genesis Foundation commission, world premiere)

  • Bennett

    These Three

  • Byrd / Tallis

    Miserere nostri

  • Byrd

    This sweet and merry month of May

  • Weelkes

    As Vesta was from Latmos hill descending


  • The Sixteen
  • Harry Christophers conductor
  • Sioned Wiliams harp

Stay connected with The Sixteen

Subscribe to our mailing list for monthly updates