The Choral Pilgrimage 2019

Our 2019 Choral Pilgrimage brings together music past and present, highlighting The Sixteen’s choral journey over the last 40 years. Our close relationship with Sir James MacMillan continues with a new commission O virgo prudentissima, contrasted with music by Fayrfax performed on our very first recording, alongside music by Wylkynson and Sheppard. These fine examples of English polyphony are juxtaposed with stunning music by Tavener and Eric Whitacre in our 40th anniversary year.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers conductor
Eamonn Dougan conductor (for selected performances)


Plainsong Salve Regina
Tavener Hymn to the Mother of God
Sheppard ‘Gloria’ from Cantate Mass
Eric Whitacre Sainte-Chapelle
Wylkynson Salve Regina a9
Fayrfax Aeternae laudis lilium
Gabriel Jackson Ave Maria
Tavener Hymn for the Dormition of the Mother of God
James MacMillan O virgo prudentissima (new commission)
Sheppard ‘Agnus Dei’ from Cantate Mass

Buy tickets

Find and book your nearest Choral Pilgrimage 2019 concert

Book Now

Choral Workshops

Take part in one of our popular choral workshops.

Find out more

Behind-the-scenes film

Explore stunning footage of the Eton Choirbook and find out from Harry Christophers and Sir James MacMillan what inspired this year's programme.

Watch now

An Enduring Voice

The accompanying Choral Pilgrimage 2019 CD is available to buy at all concerts and from our website.

Buy now

The Choral Pilgrimage 2019

Browse our 2019 Season Brochure

View online